Coming Soon….

…. On a Bookshelf near you!

In April I hope to read….

Publication Date: April 3, 2018
Publisher:  Gallery Books

Goodreads:  Leaving fans “practically [begging] for a sequel” (Bookpage), critically acclaimed author Kristy Woodson Harvey returns with the second novel in her beloved Peachtree Bluff series, featuring a trio of sisters and their mother who discover a truth that will change not only the way they see themselves, but also how they fit together as a family.

After finding out her military husband is missing in action, middle sister Sloane’s world crumbles as her worst nightmare comes true. She can barely climb out of bed, much less summon the strength to be the parent her children deserve.

Her mother, Ansley, provides a much-needed respite as she puts her personal life on hold to help Sloane and her grandchildren wade through their new grief-stricken lives. But between caring for her own aging mother, her daughters, and her grandchildren, Ansley’s private worry is that secrets from her past will come to light.

But when Sloane’s sisters, Caroline and Emerson, remind Sloane that no matter what, she promised her husband she would carry on for their young sons, Sloane finds the support and courage she needs to chase her biggest dreams—and face her deepest fears. Taking a cue from her middle daughter, Ansley takes her own leap of faith and realizes that, after all this time, she might finally be able to have it all.

Harvey’s signature warmth and wit make this a charming and poignant story of first loves, missed opportunities, and second chances and proves that she is “the next major voice in Southern fiction” (Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author).

Thank you Kristy Woodson Harvey for sending this one!!

Publication Date: April 3, 2018
Publisher: Graydon House

Goodreads: The 2:00 a.m. call is the first time Lexie Vidler has heard her sister’s voice in years. Annie is a drug addict, a thief, a liar—and in trouble, again. Lexie has always bailed Annie out, given her money, a place to sleep, sent her to every kind of rehab. But this time, she’s not just strung out—she’s pregnant and in premature labor. If she goes to the hospital, she’ll lose custody of her baby—maybe even go to prison. But the alternative is unthinkable.

As weeks unfold, Lexie finds herself caring for her fragile newborn niece while her carefully ordered life is collapsing around her. She’s in danger of losing her job, and her fiancé only has so much patience for Annie’s drama. In court-ordered rehab, Annie attempts to halt her downward spiral by confronting long-buried secrets from the sisters’ childhood, ghosts that Lexie doesn’t want to face. But will the journey heal Annie, or lead her down a darker path?

Both candid and compassionate, Before I Let You Go explores a hotly divisive topic and asks how far the ties of family love can be stretched before they finally break.

 

What is coming soon …. to a bookshelf near you?

Let me know – I am always looking for a good read!

Advertisements

The Boy Most Likely To

Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Dial Books
Genre: Young Adult
Source:  Purchase

 

Goodreads:  The romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. 

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

Ope’s Opinion:  Wow!  This book was a huge disappointment for me.  I have read a couple of Fitzpatricks books before – one I loved and one was okay. I read young adult books in the view of passing them to my granddaughter to read.  This one has so much foul language in it, the main character ( male ) talks to girls like they are their to pleasure him, and the parents are not around.  What message does all that send to a young girl.

As I read further into the book, the parents showed up a little ( and I mean just a little at the end ) more and Tim ( main character ) had learned a few lessons and was a little (again little ) more acceptable.

This just was not a book I would want a young girl to read and think those relationships were normal and acceptable.

 

Harry: Life, Loss, and Love

Author: Katie Nicholl
Publisher: Hachette Books
Genre: Biography
Source:  Claire at Little Bird Publicity

 

 

Goodreads:  On the eve of his wedding comes the most intimate and informative portrait yet of Prince Harry, from royal expert Katie Nicholl, author of the bestselling William and Harry and Kate.

Respected biographer Katie Nicholl details the most insightful book on Prince Harry to date, based on exclusive interviews with former Palace aides, courtiers, friends, and family members, and including stories, clandestine lovers, family feuds, and family secrets never before revealed.

Ope’s Opinion:  This book started out a little slow and boring because we had heard it all in the media previously.  As I kept reading, it moved a bit faster and became a bit more interesting. It was well written.  If you are a Royal watcher, you should read this one.

The Baby Plan

Author: Kate Rorick
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Genre: Fiction
Source: Paul at Harper Collins

 

Goodreads:  In Kate Rorick’s first adult fiction novel, we enter the wild, bewildering world of modern pregnancies. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll shake your head as you wonder where everyone’s sanity went…

Meet the mothers…

Nathalie Kneller: Nathalie’s plan: to announce her pregnancy now that she’s finally made it past twelve weeks! But just as she’s about to deliver (so to speak) the big news to her family, her scene-stealing sister barfs all over the Thanksgiving centerpiece. Yup, Lyndi’s pregnant too, swiping the spotlight once more…  

Lyndi Kneller:  Lyndi’s plan: finally get her life together! She’s got a new apartment, new promotion, new boyfriend. What she didn’t count on—a new baby! She can barely afford her rent, much less a state-of-the-art stroller…

Sophia Nunez: Sophia’s plan: Once she gets her daughter Maisey off to college, she’ll finally be able to enjoy life as make-up artist to one of Hollywood’s biggest stars, and girlfriend to one of rock’s hottest musicians. But after 18 years she discovers the stork is once again on its way…

Now these women are about to jump headlong into the world of modern day pregnancy. It’s a world of over the top gender reveal parties (with tacky cakes and fireworks); where every morsel you eat is scrutinized and discussed; where baby names are crowd-sourced and sonograms are Facebook-shared. And where nothing goes as planned…

Ope’s Opinion:   This book was just okay.  Each woman had their relationships with other people change due to their pregnancies.  I thought it started out silly and kind of cute.  Then the relationships got complicated ( don’t want to spoil things ) and not so cute or fun.

It seemed a long book for what happened.  I felt like there were many times when things were described with too much detail that didn’t really matter to the core of the story.

The ending was all over the place.  It didn’t feel like things were wrapped up.

Sharing Books

These are my grandchildren’s bookshelves.

 

This is Emma’s shelf. She is eight years old.
We had so much organizing her books.

This is Payton’s shelf.
She is three years old.
Already has full shelves!

These girls are fortunate, they have Aunt KK ( Kritters Ramblings ), Nana, Ope, and their parents all supplying them with books.  It is fun for all of us to pass on our love of books.

Out Now

If you like drama, different points of view, and secrets revealed,
pick this book up today!

Goodreads: 

A gripping domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.

Thank you Goodreads for sending this book to me!

The Family Next Door

Author: Sally Hepworth
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Genre: Mystery
Source: Goodreads

Goodreads: 

A gripping domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.

Ope’s Opinion:  The chapters are written in each characters voice and perspective.  It was clear who was talking, there were just a lot of people to keep track of in the beginning.  After each persons personality became clear, it was easier to follow the story lines.

It did feel a bit like a soap opera.  They all lived on the same street, they all had drama going on and they all put on happy faces outside of their homes.  Then the lies and secrets started being revealed and the fake faces came off. There were a few twists, but the biggest one was a surprise to me ( a really good one ).  I guessed totally wrong.

The end was good, not wrapped up in a neat bow ( more realistic ).  I liked it.  Could there be more to come for this group of people?

Thank you Goodreads for sending this book to me.