Max Reading

We start them early!

So many to choose from!
We have an awesome library at my house!

They all look good, but where is the one I want?

Found it!  Such a good day to read!

Advertisements

The Best of Us

Author: Robyn Carr
Publisher: MIRA

Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Source:  Sarah of LIttle Bird Publicity

 

Goodreads:  In Sullivan’s Crossing, #1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr has created a place where good people, powerful emotions, great humor and a healthy dose of common sense are the key ingredients to a happy life. Sullivan’s Crossing brings out the best in people. It’s a place you’ll want to visit again and again.

Dr. Leigh Culver loves practicing medicine in Timberlake, Colorado. It is a much-needed change of pace from her stressful life in Chicago. The only drawback is she misses her aunt Helen, the woman who raised her. But it’s time that Leigh has her independence, and she hopes the beauty of the Colorado wilderness will entice her aunt to visit often.

Helen Culver is an independent woman who lovingly raised her sister’s orphaned child. Now, with Leigh grown, it’s time for her to live life for herself. The retired teacher has become a successful mystery writer who loves to travel and intends to never experience winter again.

When Helen visits Leigh, she is surprised to find her niece still needs her, especially when it comes to sorting out her love life. But the biggest surprise comes when Leigh takes Helen out to Sullivan’s Crossing and Helen finds herself falling for the place and one special person. Helen and Leigh will each have to decide if they can open themselves up to love neither expected to find and seize the opportunity to live their best lives.

Ope’s Opinion: Oh, I enjoy reading Robyn Carr books!  You know where they are going to end ( this is a good thing ), the journey is fun with some twists along the way, and the characters are people you want to know.  This all adds up to a good read for me.

This book can be read alone, Carr is really good at filling you in on who belongs together, but this series is worth starting from the beginning.

If I had a half of a chair – I would give this book 3.5 chairs!

Out Now!

Do you like Robyn Carr?
Do you like Sullivan’s Crossing?
Then pick this one up today!

Goodreads:  In Sullivan’s Crossing, #1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr has created a place where good people, powerful emotions, great humor and a healthy dose of common sense are the key ingredients to a happy life. Sullivan’s Crossing brings out the best in people. It’s a place you’ll want to visit again and again.

Dr. Leigh Culver loves practicing medicine in Timberlake, Colorado. It is a much-needed change of pace from her stressful life in Chicago. The only drawback is she misses her aunt Helen, the woman who raised her. But it’s time that Leigh has her independence, and she hopes the beauty of the Colorado wilderness will entice her aunt to visit often.

Helen Culver is an independent woman who lovingly raised her sister’s orphaned child. Now, with Leigh grown, it’s time for her to live life for herself. The retired teacher has become a successful mystery writer who loves to travel and intends to never experience winter again.

When Helen visits Leigh, she is surprised to find her niece still needs her, especially when it comes to sorting out her love life. But the biggest surprise comes when Leigh takes Helen out to Sullivan’s Crossing and Helen finds herself falling for the place and one special person. Helen and Leigh will each have to decide if they can open themselves up to love neither expected to find and seize the opportunity to live their best lives.

Thank you Sarah at Little Bird Publicity for this one!
Review will come out Friday…

Half of What You Hear

Author: Kristyn Kuseck Lewis
Publisher: Harper
Genre: Fiction
Source: Falcon at Harper & Kristyn

 

Goodreads:  From well-loved women’s fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors—perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand.

Greyhill, Virginia—refuge of old money, old mansions, and old-fashioned ideas about who belongs and who doesn’t—just got a few new residents. When Bess Warner arrives in town with her husband Cole and their kids, she thinks she knows what to expect. Sure, moving to Cole’s small hometown means she’ll have to live across the street from her mother-in-law, and yes, there’s going to be a lot to learn as they take over Cole’s family’s inn-keeping business, but Bess believes it will be the perfect escape from Washington. She needs it to be. After losing her White House job under a cloud of scandal, she hardly knows who she is anymore.

But Bess quickly discovers that fitting in is easier said than done. Instead of the simpler life she’d banked on, she finds herself preoccupied by barbed questions from gossipy locals and her own worries over how her twins are acclimating at the town’s elite private school. When the opportunity to write an article for the Washington Post’s lifestyle supplement falls into Bess’s lap, she thinks it might finally be her opportunity to find her footing here…even if the subject of the piece is Greyhill’s most notorious resident.

Susannah “Cricket” Lane, fruit of the town’s deepest-rooted family tree, is a special sort of outsider, having just returned to Greyhill from New York after a decades-long hiatus. The long absence has always been the subject of suspicion, not that the eccentric Susannah cares what anyone thinks; as a matter of fact, she seems bent on antagonizing as many people as possible. But is Susannah being sincere with Bess—or is she using their strangely intense interview sessions for her to further an agenda that includes peeling back the layers of Greyhill’s darkest secrets?

As Bess discovers unsettling truths about Susannah and Greyhill at large, ones that bring her into the secrets of prior generations, she begins to learn how difficult it is to start over in a town that runs on talk, and that sometimes, the best way to find yourself is to uncover what everyone around you is hiding….

Ope’s Opinion: The title of this book is perfect!  Just like any gossip anywhere, you should only believe half of what you hear.  People who are bored sure like to talk and people who talk that much make up things to keep talking.

This little town was described well enough, I could almost see it.  All the people seem a little familiar.  You could probably relate to one of them – the outsider, the one people talk about, but don’t really know or may the one who likes to talk.

I felt like the secrets took a little too long to be revealed.  I enjoy being the one who knows the secret when I am reading and waiting for everyone else to figure it out.

Happy New Year!

Image result for new year 2019 with book

I hope your new year is amazing and starts with friends, family and books!

As always at this time of year,  I look at what changes I might want to do on my blog.  I have decided to switch from Monday and Thursday to Tuesday and Friday.   Tuesdays will be Out Now – what books will be published that week – usually ones I  hope to read.   Fridays will be mostly reviews.  In between will just be any interesting book things I see or do.

I hope this is another year of great reading.

 

 

On the Same Page

Author: N.D. Galland
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Source: Amelia at William Morrow

 

Goodreads:  A romantic comedy that tells the story of one journalist secretly juggling two bylines for competing newspapers on a small island.

Distorting the facts just a little can’t hurt—except when falling in love…

Martha’s Vineyard has two distinct “personalities”—one characterized by its tanned and polished summer people; the other represented by the small-town, salt-of-the-earth year-round residents. The island even has two newspapers, each appealing to its distinct readership. Over the years, an intense rivalry has grown between the two papers; in fact, neither paper will work with writers who have any relationship to the other paper.

Johanna Howes is a Vineyard girl who left the island at the age of eighteen and never looked back. She went to college on the mainland and moved to the Big City to start a career as a journalist. Now she’s returned to take care of her aging Uncle Hank. As neither paper can pay her enough to live on, she creates a false identity so that she can write for both papers at once. Often this means writing the same story twice, coming at it from opposite ends of the spectrum.

Before long, Johanna finds herself caught up in a messy Island political situation. A wealthy, seasonal resident is suing the town government for the right to land his private helicopter on his property. When Johanna agrees to go for a cup of coffee with the handsome man she meets at a zoning board meeting, she has no idea that she has just made a date with Orion Smith, the wealthy off-Islander who is causing all the ruckus. And what he doesn’t know is that Johanna has been assigned by both Island papers to cover the story.

Scrambling to keep her various identities straight and separate from each other, Johanna desperately tries to find a graceful way out of the mess she’s created. But doing so will likely get her into trouble or cause her to lose her writing gigs…not to mention jeopardize her chance at a budding romance with a man she’s doing her best not to fall for.

Ope’s Opinion:  I really like the setting ( Martha’s Vineyard ), I really like the cover, and I like that the main characters was focused on her job.  I did not like how the author did not put Martha’s Vineyard in a good light, Hank was not likeable, and it was really hard to read.

N.D. Galland writing style was difficult to read.  I felt like she was trying to make each description very detailed.  I think she opened the thesaurus and found the most obscure word to replace an ordinary word.  It made some of the joy go out of the story for me when I had to reread a sentence to figure out what she was trying to say.

I did like Johanna.  I really liked that her job was the focus of most of the book.  Her relationship came later and wasn’t the center of her whole world.