The Invisibles

Author: Cecilia Galante
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Genre: Fiction
Source: William Morrow Paperbacks

 

Goodreads:  In the vein of Meg Donohue and Jennifer Close, comes Cecilia Galante’s adult debut about the complicated and powerful bonds of female friendship–a compelling, moving novel that is told in both the present and the past.

Thrown together by chance as teenagers at Turning Winds Home for Girls, Nora, Ozzie, Monica, and Grace quickly bond over their troubled pasts and form their own family which they dub The Invisibles. But when tragedy strikes after graduation, Nora is left to deal with the horrifying aftermath alone as the other three girls leave home and don’t look back.

Fourteen years later, Nora is living a quiet, single life working in the local library. She is content to focus on her collection of “first lines” (her favorite opening lines from novels) and her dog, Alice Walker, when out-of-the-blue Ozzie calls her on her thirty-second birthday. But after all these years, Ozzie hasn’t called her to wish a happy birthday. Instead, she tells Nora that Grace attempted suicide and is pleading for The Invisibles to convene again. Nora is torn: she is thrilled at the thought of being in touch with her friends, and yet she is hesitant at seeing these women after such a long and silent period of time. Bolstered by her friends at the library, Nora joins The Invisibles in Chicago for a reunion that sets off an extraordinary chain of events that will change each of their lives forever.

The Invisibles is an unforgettable novel that asks the questions: How much of our pasts define our present selves? And what does it take to let go of some of our most painful wounds and move on?

Ope’s Opinion:  I would really only give this a two and a half, if I could have a half of a chair.

I love books with tension that keep me reading.  This book felt like the author was trying to create tension by saying things like ” With everything that happened” or “After that night”, but it just wasn’t there – it didn’t come naturally.  It kind of frustrated me.  After a while, I was like just tell us what happened.

I got bored at times and put it down – it did not call me back to it, but I did want to finish it.  I realized this was not a feel good read – didn’t expect it to be, but it was too heavy from all the different perspectives.  I needed someone to be positive.

At the end of a book, I should be sad to flip the last page – wanting more.  At the end of this book, I was just relieved.  I didn’t want to be sad anymore.  I didn’t want to feel so weighed down.

Advertisements

Comment Below

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.