Coming Soon….

…. On a Bookshelf near you!

In October I hope to read….

Publication Date: October 22, 2019
Publisher: Gallery Books

Goodreads: From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

What is coming soon …. to a bookshelf near you?

Let me know – I am always looking for a good read!

Glory Road

Author: Lauren K. Denton
Publisher:  Thomas Nelson
Genre: Fiction
Source: Kristin of Kritters Ramblings

Goodreads:  Written in Lauren Denton’s signature Southern style, Glory Road tells the story of three generations of women navigating the uncertain pathways of their hearts during a summer that promises to bring change–whether they’re ready for it or not.

At thirty-eight, garden shop owner Jessie McBride thinks her chances for romance are years behind her and, after her failed marriage, she’s fine with that. She lives contentedly with her fiery mother and her quiet, headstrong daughter. But the unexpected arrival of two men on Glory Road make her question if she’s really happy with the status quo. Handsome, wealthy Sumner Tate asks her to arrange flowers for his daughter’s wedding, and Jessie finds herself drawn to his continued attention. And Ben Bradley, her lingering what-could-have-been from high school days who’s known her better than anyone and whom she hasn’t seen in years, moves back to the red dirt road. Jessie finds her heart being pulled in directions she never expected.

Meanwhile, Jessie’s fourteen-year-old daughter, Evan, is approaching the start of high school and trying to navigate a new world of identity and emotions–particularly as they relate to the cute new guy who’s moved in just down the road. At the same time, Jessie’s mother, Gus, increasingly finds herself forgetful and faces a potentially frightening future.

As all three women navigate the uncertain paths of their hearts and futures, one summer promises to bring change–whether they’re ready for it or not.

Ope’s Opinion:  Oh, Lauren Denton writes the best stories!  From beginning to the very end, every part of it is wonderful.  This clean, deep, emotional story was a pleasure to read. 

This story is told from three generations of the McBride family.  All three of these women are strong and independent – good examples for women of every age.  They are great  characters that are very relatable.

The ending was what you expected and was very satisfying.  I am counting down until I can read another Lauren K. Denton book.

The Last Chance Matinee

Author: Mariah Stewart
Publisher: Gallery Books
Genre: Romance
Source: Purchased

Goodreads:  From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes the first novel in her all-new series, The Hudson Sisters, following a trio of reluctant sisters as they set out to fulfill their father’s dying wish. In the process, they find not only themselves, but the father they only thought they knew.

When celebrated and respected agent Fritz Hudson passes away, he leaves a trail of Hollywood glory in his wake—and two separate families who never knew the other existed. Allie and Des Hudson are products of Fritz’s first marriage to Honora, a beautiful but troubled starlet whose life ended in a tragic overdose. Meanwhile, Fritz was falling in love on the Delaware Bay with New Age hippie Susa Pratt—they had a daughter together, Cara, and while Fritz loved Susa with everything he had, he never quite managed to tell her or Cara about his West Coast family.

Now Fritz is gone, and the three sisters are brought together under strange circumstances: there’s a large inheritance to be had that could save Allie from her ever-deepening debt following a disastrous divorce, allow Des to open a rescue shelter for abused and wounded animals, and give Cara a fresh start after her husband left her for her best friend—but only if the sisters upend their lives and work together to restore an old, decrepit theater that was Fritz’s obsession growing up in his small hometown in Pennsylvania’s Pocono Mountains. Guided by Fritz’s closest friend and longtime attorney, Pete Wheeler, the sisters come together—whether they like it or not—to turn their father’s dream into a reality, and might just come away with far more than they bargained for.

Ope’s Opinion:  There is a lot of background information, explanation of relationships and description of the house, the town, the theater, etc. because this the first book in the series of the Hudson sisters.  It took a little while to get the story going since you needed all the background to understand what was going on. 

Once the story got going, it was very good and all the background information was very helpful.  This book is in the romance category, but in this first book there was very little romance.  I think the next two books will get deeper into the sisters romantic relationships.

The ending was left wide open, which I expected since there are two more books to follow.  I will definitely be reading the next one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sadie

Author: Courtney Summers
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Genre: Young Adult
Source: Book Expo 2019

 

Goodreads:  A missing girl on a journey of revenge. A Serial―like podcast following the clues she’s left behind. And an ending you won’t be able to stop talking about.

Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie’s entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister’s killer to justice and hits the road following a few meager clues to find him.

When West McCray―a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America―overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.


Courtney Summers has written the breakout book of her career. Sadie is propulsive and harrowing and will keep you riveted until the last page.

Ope’s Opinion: This is a really hard book to read, so don’t pick it up unless you are ready to sink into a dark story that could be real and is disturbing.  It is a heartbreaking story.

I thought Courtney Summer had an interesting way of telling the story from Sadie’s perspective and from the “Girls” ( podcast ) perspective. I would suggest you know your young adult  well before you advise them about reading this one.  It will leave a lasting impression on the reader.

The ending left you at a place that felt real, but I can’t say it felt complete or satisfying.