Half of What You Hear

Author: Kristyn Kuseck Lewis
Publisher: Harper
Genre: Fiction
Source: Falcon at Harper & Kristyn

 

Goodreads:  From well-loved women’s fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors—perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand.

Greyhill, Virginia—refuge of old money, old mansions, and old-fashioned ideas about who belongs and who doesn’t—just got a few new residents. When Bess Warner arrives in town with her husband Cole and their kids, she thinks she knows what to expect. Sure, moving to Cole’s small hometown means she’ll have to live across the street from her mother-in-law, and yes, there’s going to be a lot to learn as they take over Cole’s family’s inn-keeping business, but Bess believes it will be the perfect escape from Washington. She needs it to be. After losing her White House job under a cloud of scandal, she hardly knows who she is anymore.

But Bess quickly discovers that fitting in is easier said than done. Instead of the simpler life she’d banked on, she finds herself preoccupied by barbed questions from gossipy locals and her own worries over how her twins are acclimating at the town’s elite private school. When the opportunity to write an article for the Washington Post’s lifestyle supplement falls into Bess’s lap, she thinks it might finally be her opportunity to find her footing here…even if the subject of the piece is Greyhill’s most notorious resident.

Susannah “Cricket” Lane, fruit of the town’s deepest-rooted family tree, is a special sort of outsider, having just returned to Greyhill from New York after a decades-long hiatus. The long absence has always been the subject of suspicion, not that the eccentric Susannah cares what anyone thinks; as a matter of fact, she seems bent on antagonizing as many people as possible. But is Susannah being sincere with Bess—or is she using their strangely intense interview sessions for her to further an agenda that includes peeling back the layers of Greyhill’s darkest secrets?

As Bess discovers unsettling truths about Susannah and Greyhill at large, ones that bring her into the secrets of prior generations, she begins to learn how difficult it is to start over in a town that runs on talk, and that sometimes, the best way to find yourself is to uncover what everyone around you is hiding….

Ope’s Opinion: The title of this book is perfect!  Just like any gossip anywhere, you should only believe half of what you hear.  People who are bored sure like to talk and people who talk that much make up things to keep talking.

This little town was described well enough, I could almost see it.  All the people seem a little familiar.  You could probably relate to one of them – the outsider, the one people talk about, but don’t really know or may the one who likes to talk.

I felt like the secrets took a little too long to be revealed.  I enjoy being the one who knows the secret when I am reading and waiting for everyone else to figure it out.

Advertisements

Save Me

Author:  Kristyn Kusek Lewis
Publisher:  Grand Central Publishing               save me
Genre:  Women’s Fiction
Source:  Grand Central Publishing

 

 

 

Goodreads:  Daphne Mitchell has always believed in cause and effect, right and wrong, good and bad. The good: her dream job as a doctor; Owen, her childhood sweetheart and now husband; the beautiful farmhouse they’re restoring together. In fact, most of her life has been good–until the day Owen comes home early from work to tell her he’s fallen head over heels for someone else.

Unable to hate him, but also equally incapable of moving forward, Daphne’s life hangs in limbo until the day Owen’s new girlfriend sustains near-fatal injuries in a car accident. As Daphne becomes a pillar of support for the devastated Owen, and realizes that reconciliation may lie within her grasp, she has to find out whether forgiveness is possible and decide which path is the right one for her.

Ope’s Opinion:  This is a slow moving, deeply emotional book.  As you follow Daphne through her heartbreak, you can really feel her heaviness.  I like books that  are realistic, but at times this one is so realistic it is difficult to read.

It is hard to read about a marriage that has so many struggles.  Daphne has hard decisions to make.  Her family and friends don’t always agree, but they obviously love her and want what will be best for her.

I felt like Owen was lazy.  Marriage takes work.  It takes time and effort to put someone else first.   Owen just thought of himself and the short term happiness.

Kristyn Kusek Lewis wrote a very real look at one marriage.

Rating:  Three Chairs – I like the book enough to suggest it to a friend or two.
3 chairs