Breathe In, Cash Out

Author: Madeleine Henry
Publisher: Atria Books
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Source: Megan at Simon & Schuster

 

Goodreads:  In this sizzling debut for fans of The Devil Wears Prada, Wall Street banking analyst Allegra Cobb plans to quit the minute her year-end bonus hits her account, finally pursuing her yoga career full-time. But when she forms an intense relationship with the #InstaFamous guru who may hold the ticket to the life Allegra’s always wanted—she’s not sure if she’ll be able to keep her sanity intact (and her chakras aligned) until bonus day.

Allegra Cobb’s resume: Straight-A Princeton grad, second-year analyst at a top-tier bank, one-time USA Yoga National Champion. Allegra Cobb’s reality: Spends twenty-four hours a day changing the colors on bar charts, overusing the word “team,” and daydreaming about quitting the minute her year-end bonus hits her account. She has no interest in the cutthroat banking world—she’s going to launch her very own yoga practice.

But her plan isn’t quite as perfect as the beachfront yoga pictures she double-taps on Instagram. On top of the 100 emails an hour and coworkers already suspicious of her escape plan, Allegra’s hard-driving single father has always expected fiercely high achievement above all else. That his daughter works on Wall Street means everything to him. Still, she marches on, taking it day by extremely caffeinated day.

But after (1) unknowingly sleeping with the man now leading her banking cohort on one of their biggest deals to date and (2) meeting the #blessed yoga guru who might just be her ticket to the life she’s always wanted, it really hits her: her happy-ever-after will be harder to manifest than she thought.

Fast-paced, laugh-out-loud funny, and totally irresistible, this is the story of a fearless young woman determined to center herself in the life she truly wants.

Ope’s Opinion: The synopsis really caught my attention, making me want to read this book.  I enjoy women who are focused on their careers and know where they want to go.  Allegra is one of those women.  I also enjoy a little humor to lighten the story line – I didn’t see much of that.

It took a long time and a lot of obstacles along the way for Allegra to get her bonus.  I thought it was going to happen at the beginning of the book and you were going to see her struggle to make it in the yoga world – I was wrong.

If you read this blog much, you know I get frustrated with the constant use of the “f” word, which was used repetitively throughout this book.

Advertisements