What I Thought Was True

Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick                                   what i thought
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Genre:  Contemporary Young Adult
Source: Purchased

 

 

Goodreads:  From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she’ll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen’s dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

Ope’s Opinion:  Oh, My!  Read this book!!!  This is my second book my Huntley Fitzpatrick and it was as good or better then the last one.  She knows how to bring her characters to life.  I get so absorbed in their lives, I feel like I am one of the friends along for the ride.

This story is so much more then two young people trying to figure each other out.  It deals with parenting, work ethic, friendships, loyalties, truth and so much more.

There are some twists and turns along the way and the ending took my breath away!  I am looking forward to her next one – which is sitting on my shelf right now.

Rating:  5 – I like this book so much it will be passed on and on and on….

Advertisements

Comment Below

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s