The One That Got Away

Author:  Bethany Chase
Publisher: Ballantine Books                                the oe
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Source: Kristin of Kritters Ramblings

 

 

Goodreads:  Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one’s own.

Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. She’s well on her way to having the family she’s hoped for since her mother’s death ten years ago. But with Noah on a temporary assignment abroad and retired Olympic swimmer — and former flame — Eamon Roy back in town asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina’s life takes an unexpected turn.

Eamon proves to be Sarina’s dream client, someone who instinctively trusts every one of her choices — and Sarina is reminded of all the reasons she was first drawn to him back in the day. Suddenly her carefully planned future with Noah seems a little less than perfect. And when tragedy strikes, Sarina is left reeling. With her world completely upended, she is forced to question what she truly wants in life — and in love.

Full of both humor and heartbreak, The One That Got Away is the story of one woman’s discovery that, sometimes, life is what happens when you leave the blueprints behind.

Ope’s Opinion:  I was very excited to borrow this from my daughter Kristin of Kritters Ramblings.  It did not disappointment me.  The story itself is very relatable and the characters are realistic.  

If you like characters that are independent, won’t settle for less then they deserve, have families that feel real and are willing to work hard for what they want – you will love this book.  Sarina is that kind of person.  She has a job that she loves and is front and center in this book.

This book would have gotten a five or more in my ratings, but the constant use of the “f” word was distracting and totally unnecessary.

Rating: 4.5 – I like this book so much I know several friends to share it with.

Advertisements

Comment Below

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.